Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

Spiced Up Rhubarb – Bell’s Bake Shop

on May 12, 2012

ImageMay 11, 2012
Bell’s Bake Shop, Richmond BC
~
Rhubarb Cupcake with Ginger Buttercream
~

My first visit to Bell’s Bake Shop was during Spring Break but they were closed. Thus, I guess this is my first official visit where I actually tried a cupcake. We were there five minutes before closing and there were still quite a few people trickling in. The place is cute and cozy, well-lit and quite spacious as well. It felt fresh, just like the cupcakes.

My first cupcake, their Rhubarb Cupcake with Ginger Buttercream, certainly did not disappoint. I figured that I will go ahead and try a flavour not offered year-round and I just saw an ad in the paper earlier of a grocery store selling rhubarb so I had that taste stuck in my head all afternoon. The cake had bits of rhubarb mixed in, with a lovely tartness to balance out the light sugary sweetness of the cake. It was so soft and slightly moist, absolutely perfect texture for a cupcake. I was very pleased to find that it was not dry. It was also very fresh tasting, one of the benefits of the treat baked fresh daily.

I am not a fan of ginger. Actually, I do not like ginger at all besides drinking gingerale. The fact that I can tolerate and even appreciate to some extent the ginger buttercream on top says a lot about it. It was buttery but in no way was it, as I like to call it, ‘oily.’ It was very sweet, which I love, and the ratio of icing to cake was good. The sprinkles on top added a nice crunch to it. I have to say it was definitely one of the best buttercreams I have ever tried, so I am extremely eager now to go and try their other frosting flavours that have no ginger.

Overall, I am quite pleased to find such a lovely, little cupcakery so close to home. I will certainly be going back very soon and I am sure their other flavours are going to be great as well. If they can do such a good job with ginger, the others are going to be even better. Also, my cravings for rhubarb and that tartness today has finally been satisfied.

Bell's Bake Shop on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

