Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

Warmed Up and Sweetened – Tim Hortons

on May 29, 2012

ImageMay 29, 2012
Tim Hortons, Richmond BC
~
Hearty Vegetable Soup
Raspberry Timbit
Honey Dip Timbit
Chocolate Glazed Timbit

~

Today started off chilly with some showers but luckily, the rain ceased after class so that I was not forced to use my umbrella to get home. It was still a little cold, though, so I decided to follow yesterday’s route and see what Tim Hortons had in store for me today. This time, as it was slightly earlier in the day and during peak lunch hours, the lines were even longer. The seats in the restaurant were almost full and the atmosphere was a chatty, uplifting one.

I was very glad they had the Hearty Vegetable Soup today. It is their lowest-calorie soup option and there is nothing like a nice tomato broth with large chunks of various healthy veggies to make me happier on a chilly afternoon. I was decently surprised to find a very wide variety of ingredients, actually. Not only were there carrots, tomatoes, zucchini, celery, and potatoes, there were also kidney beans, peas, and chickpeas. I love it when vegetables are mixed with all sorts of beans in a soup. The tomato broth was quite aromatic but not heavy. It was not watery either so the flavour was quite dense and complex with the herbs. Once again, I am satisfied with the soup and with so many more options, I will be back again soon.Image

The timbits were just calling out to me today so I had to get three. First, their only filled timbit option today, was the Raspberry Timbit. This was not great as I could taste it was not fresh. I hope it was not from yesterday but it was definitely baked no later than early this morning. It was kind of hard to bite, which made the confectionery sugar come off all over the place. The yeast part was dry and a little stale. The raspberry filling tasted good, with a nice – though artificial – flavour. However, there was only a little bit of the filling and not enough to be even called a ‘fill’ing. The sweetness and tartness was alright, but they should definitely put in more than the size of a kidney bean.

The next one was the Honey Dip Timbit. This was also not too fresh but it was definitely more fresh than the raspberry one. The dough was still somewhat moist on the inside. Mine just happened to be a little on the small side and further deflated or squished up. The glaze was not applied too evenly but the flavour was wonderful. This is my first time actually eating this timbit as far as I can recall. The honey flavour was just lovely and refreshing. It was super sweet but in a good way. After all, honey tastes so much better than just sugar.

ImageFinally, one of my all time favourites, I just had to get the Chocolate Glazed Timbit. This one does not taste stale since it is a cake base. Perhaps that is why I have always loved this one the most, since the flavour is always nice and rich and it always tastes fresh. The glaze was lovely, surrounding a semisweet chocolate cake. The cake was just moist enough for a doughnut type of dessert and very soft and chewy. It was also very dense, which is another reason why I love it. A bite actually feels like a bite, rather than some of the ‘fluffier’ timbits that just seem to disappear once you eat it. Chocolate and sugar glaze will always work for me!

For those who love doughnuts but do not want to eat an entire one and prefer variety, Timbits are the way to go. I should mention that I am quite amused by how these little round doughnut treats are called Timbits at Tim Hortons, Munchkins at Dunkin’ Donuts, and Doughnut Holes at Krispy Kreme Doughnuts. Both Timbits and Munchkins come from the respective chain’s name but I guess Krispy Kreme just cannot be altered to create a new name. Maybe like ‘Petite Kremes’ or something? Oh well, at least they are all roughly the same treats anyways!

Tim Hortons (Richmond Centre) on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

