Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

Sweet with a Salty Surprise – Starbucks

on June 22, 2012

ImageJune 21, 2012
Starbucks, Richmond BC
~
Chocolate Caramel Pretzel
~

Sometimes, it is hard to know what to blog about each day. Since I try to have at least one post everyday, unless of course I wrote multiple the day before, snacks are easier to sample than full meals at sit-down restaurants. Thus, I resort to Starbucks or Tim Hortons whenever I am tight on time. Fortunately, Starbucks has a huge variety of goodies. Canadian Starbucks also differ from the American ones. Apparently, the menu varies quite a lot around the world. My plan for the summer is to try everything that Canadian Starbucks stores offer since I cannot get them once I go back to Philly.

ImageOne such item is the Chocolate Caramel Pretzel. It is a giant, salted pretzel stick, coated in caramel and dipped in milk chocolate. Finally, there are some dark chocolate drizzled on top. I love the taste. The salt from the pretzel gives is a blast of savoury once you get past the sweetness of the milk chocolate and caramel. The chocolate was quite good and sweet. The caramel was kind of hard and not as gooey, but it was awfully sticky. I mean that in a good way. It got caught easily on my teeth but I love working hard to eat something like this. There was a good balance between chocolate and caramel. The pretzel, however, was quite stale. It was no longer crunchy and easily broken but rather rigid. Couple that with the sticky caramel and the whole treat was sticky and hard to eat. However, the flavour was amazing. I just wish it was fresher. I guess even Starbucks misjudge the freshness of their products. 

Starbucks (Blundell Centre) on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

