Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

Your Choice of Fruity or Chocolatey – McDonald’s

on July 9, 2012

ImageJuly 9, 2012
McDonald’s, Richmond BC
~
Blueberry Pomegranate Real Fruit Smoothie
Drumstick McFlurry
~

Today was an exceptionally lucky day and I am keeping my fingers crossed it will last throughout this week. Add to that a beautiful summer day, it was just a perfect afternoon for some chilly treats from McDonald’s. As unhealthy as some will say their burgers are, I find their desserts not worse than most others, if not better. Their ice cream is more or less frozen milk and there are no excess sugar in their smoothies. That is more than can be said for many of the similar treats sold in other fast food chains or even in supermarkets. At a very reasonable price, I am sure McDonald’s would be frequented by Mom and I this summer.

Mom likes smoothies, so for her, I got the Blueberry Pomegranate Real Fruit Smoothie. As Mom puts it, the beverage is a blend of two extremely healthy fruits with all the good nutrients such as vitamins and antioxidants. The texture was cool and slushy, perfect for the sunshine and warm afternoon. With low fat yogurt and no banana, I was fine with it, even though it did not turn me into a smoothie girl. The colour was pleasant, however, and the taste a good blend of sweet and tart. It tasted more of the blueberries rather than pomegranate, somewhat like blueberries blended with something a little more sour. It was quite refreshing though.Image

For myself, I personally prefer something sweeter and creamier, and so I decided to get a Drumstick McFlurry. It is their new version of the lovely treat, made from Nestle Drumstick sugar cone pieces, crunchy roasted peanuts, and fudge topping, all blended into their vanilla soft serve. First, their vanilla soft serve, a sweetened version of frozen milk, is delicious. I love the smooth texture that still retains the same great vanilla sweetness. It is not too creamy or rich, but is not at all watered down. The Drumstick sugar cone pieces were also delicious. They were sweet, chocolatey, and crunchy. I am not a big fan of plain roasted peanuts. I usually eat it with a heavy flavour, such as chili peppers or some other strong seasoning. The peanuts are also the reason I was never a fan of Nestle Drumstick cones. They did add to the crunch of the treat, and for those who likes peanuts, will be delicious. I was not expecting the fudge topping, but loved the smooth, sticky, chocolatey goo that was very sweet and rich. It was delicious, when everything was mixed together. Cold, creamy, and not overly rich, it was my kind of sweet afternoon snack.

For what they offer, McDonald’s prices are decent and quality acceptable. The tastes of their treats are on the better side out of all foods that are not considered gourmet. For a quick snack on a hot, sunny afternoon, it is certainly an acceptable choice. There are options for all levels of sweetness, from tart smoothies to super sweet but tasty ice cream desserts. McFlurries are just good in my opinion. Sweet on sweet will always work and will never get old for me!

McDonald's (Blundell Centre) on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

