Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

Summer Egg Hunt – McDonald’s

on July 25, 2012

ImageJuly 25, 2012
McDonald’s, New Westminster BC
~
Cadbury Creme Egg McFlurry
Strawberry Banana Real Fruit Smoothie
~

Mom and I made a trip to Walmart to pick up some garlic. Like most Walmart stores, this one had a McDonald’s inside. Since it was turning into a beautiful, sunny afternoon, we decided to go in and chill with a drink. There were not many people inside and the lighting was good. The benches we sat on were kind of soft so it was certainly a decent place to relax a little after a day of work.

When I saw the menu, I was surprised to see a huge picture of the Cadbury Creme Egg McFlurry. This was a promotion during Easter back in April and was no longer offered at other McDonald’s as far as I knew. However, they confirmed that this was still available, so I just had to get it. Who would have thought I was so lucky as to get the chance to try something I really wanted but was not supposed to be available any longer? It was chunks of Cadbury Creme Egg chocolate swirled with caramel sauce and vanilla soft serve. It was addicting. The vanilla soft serve is as smooth and sweet as ever but not too rich in any way. The caramel sauce was very sticky and sweet. I think I would have liked it to be not as sticky, since I had to almost chew parts of it and my teeth got stuck together somewhat. However, I like the extremely sweet taste of caramel so it was delicious anyways. The chocolate egg bits were actually not too small and you still had to bite and chew it a bit. They were not as sweet compared to the ice cream and caramel so instead, they added a nice cocoa flavour to the cool dessert. Together with the caramel, the chocolate treat was much appreciated by both of us!

ImageMom also wanted a smoothie so I persuaded her to get the final of the four flavours – the Strawberry Banana Real Fruit Smoothie. Like the mango pineapple one, we have tried this flavour before but it had been so long ago the precise taste escapes our memory. Clearly, it was not memorable. The strawberry tartness was quite strong, as was the tropical aroma of bananas. Not the biggest fan of banana smoothies, this one did not appeal to me as much as the other three. Sure, it was still tart, slightly sweet, slushy, cold, and certainly refreshing, but I would pick any of the other flavours over this simply because it has bananas and it is so… ordinary. This is perhaps the most common smoothie flavour around. To be fair, it was still a nice beverage on a hot afternoon, even though it was neither mine nor Mom’s favourite. That honor goes to the mango pineapple flavour.

The surprise of the McFlurry really cheered me up. I am still keeping up with National Ice Cream Month… or McFlurry Month for me! This was a flavour I had wanted to try from the get go and I was disappointed that the promotion would be over by the time I came back to Canada – they did not have it in the States. However, this just totally made up for that. I had told Mom to try it around Easter time but she never did. Now, she actually decides she likes this flavour when there is not too much caramel to make it overly sweet for her. For me, the sweetness is the key. I wish they would keep certain promotions just that much longer, but this time, at least I got to try out despite being more than three months late!

McDonald's (Queensborough Walmart) on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

