Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

I Like It Sweeter – Cupcakes Like It Sweet

on August 21, 2012

ImageAugust 18, 2012
Cupcakes Like It Sweet, Bellingham WA
~
Chocolate Mint Mini Cupcake
The Mumsie Mini Cupcake
~

Having realized a new cupcake store opened up in Bellingham when I was last there, I just could not resist the temptation to check it out. I love cupcakes way too much for my own good. After looking up the place on my phone – and seeing not only did it have decent prices at $2.50 for a regular or $1.50 for a mini, but also some good reviews – I just HAD to visit Cupcakes Like It Sweet. The store was new and thus looked really nice. The chairs and tables were cute but not exactly girly. I liked the blue walls and décor as well. It all made for a very upscale bakery and a casual, nice spot to chat over a sweet bite.

Full after lunch, I only ordered two minis. The first one was the Chocolate Mint Mini Cupcake. It had a chocolate cake base, mint buttercream, and a piece of mint filled chocolate. It was cute and decorated nicely. The cake was not as moist as I would like it but it was not exactly dry either. It was not too sweet and still very soft. The mint buttercream had hardened on the outside but the inside was still soft and smooth. The mint taste was quite strong and the amount of sugar in the frosting was also good and sweet. It was not oily or greasy so I loved the buttercream. The addition of the chocolate on top just added a nice crunchy bite.Image

The other one was The Mumsie Mini Cupcake. I adore the name! The Mumsie is a chocolate cake base, dipped in chocolate ganache, and topped with a cream cheese frosting and chocolate flake sprinkles. The cake was the same as the Chocolate Mint – not too sweet, moist, or dry but still soft and airy. The chocolate ganache had a good cocoa flavour but I could not taste much of the cream cheese in the frosting. It was still a good frosting, since it was smooth, sweet, dense, and not greasy. However, I found myself wishing for more cream cheese.

The regular cupcakes are certainly more worth it as they are more than double the size. I just could not handle it this time, and these two flavours only had minis left. The owner was very nice and I am sure I would be back again the next time I visit Bellingham. They have some rare flavours, such as White Chocolate Raspberry and Cinnamon Roll. For a small town and a privately owned small cupcake business, the place looks quite fancy and professional.

Cupcakes Like It Sweet  on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

