Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

Monkeys Fly Too – Flying Monkey Bakery

on September 30, 2012

ImageSeptember 25, 2012
Flying Monkey Bakery, Philadelphia PA
~
Peanut Butter & Jelly Cupcake
Butterscotch Cupcake
Pumpkin Chai Whoopie Pie
Espresso Whoopie Pie
~

I needed to go to Center City so I decided it was a good time to visit Reading Terminal Market and get some delicious goodies from Flying Monkey Bakery. I loved the atmosphere inside, with endless food options, most of which was so appetizing that I know I will be back very soon. Sticking with my plan, though, I found my way amidst all the different vendors to the display cases filled with cupcakes, Whoopie pies, brownies, and a bunch of other delicious-looking treats. 

The first was the Peanut Butter & Jelly Cupcake. These cupcakes was slightly frozen but still moist and soft. The cake was not particularly sweet but had rather a nice and light aroma. The peanut butter buttercream was slightly too buttery and light for me instead of sugary and dense. However, the savory taste made up for it so that it was not too oily. The strawberry jelly was cold, sticky, and sweet with strawberry pieces. The flavors blended fabulously and really resembled a peanut butter and jelly sandwich.Image

The Butterscotch Cupcake was disappointing. The buttercream was too greasy, light, and not sweet enough. The chocolate cake was nice but again not very sweet. I liked the few butterscotch chips on top but overall, there was not enough flavor to balance out the overwhelming butteriness of the frosting. The cupcake was good if you like greasy frosting and a semisweet dessert, but for me, I prefer my cupcakes to be not so bland.

The Pumpkin Chai Whoopie was out of this world. The cake shells were dense, soft, and very moist. They were also very sweet and with quite a decent pumpkin spice flavor. The chai icing in the middle was not greasy and very sweet and nicely spiced. It was sugary rather than buttery and the while treat was absolutely scrumptious! It was so warm, the flavors, perfect for the fall.Image

Finally, I had the Espresso Whoopie Pie. The chocolate cake shells were again only semisweet but moist and dense. The espresso frosting inside could have used a sweeter and stronger coffee flavor, although it was not unbearably oily. The flavors we’re there, just faint. Image

I am quite pleased with the Whoopie pies but not so much the cupcakes. At $2.50 each, I would definitely go back for the Whoopie pies and maybe a cake truffle! It is not too overpriced and the good was quite good quality wise. The frosting on the cupcakes were just not my style but for those who like it for what it is, Flying Monkey Bakery is a great bakery. 

Flying Monkey Patisserie on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

