Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

More Veggies Please! – Hummus Grill

on October 19, 2012

ImageOctober 7, 2012
Hummus Grill, Philadelphia PA
~
Cabbage Salad

Israeli Salad
~

Rushing back after picking up some groceries, I stopped at Hummus Grill for dinner. Even on a rainy Sunday night, the restaurant was crowded, clearly a crowd pleaser around campus. After all, they are fast but still offer a casual restaurant setting and food. You can always trust students not to eat fast food for dinner on Sundays.

I started with a side of Cabbage Salad, as I am always a fan of slightly pickled, more exotic vegetables. I am not a Caesar or Cobb girl, but these Middle Eastern salads will do. It was not as good as I expected, slightly on the bland side. They had a little vinegar dressing but that was about it. The bright red color was pleasing and I was lad it was not oily at all. I loved the crunchy cabbage and for $2.95, it was a decent portion size.Image

My entrée was the Israeli Salad. Yes, I was feeling up to endless vegetables. The Israeli Salad had cucumbers, tomatoes, and red onions over a bed of crunchy romaine. It came with a seasoned lemon juice-based dressing that was surprisingly not greasy. The whole thing was light, crunchy, and very refreshing. The acidity really worked well with the cucumbers and I had some tzatziki sauce on the side when I felt like something a little creamier.

This was my first time at Hummus Grill and I was quite pleased with my dinner. They have quite an extensive menu, with many gyros, kabobs, falafel, platters, and various salads. I am sure I will be frequenting the little establishment after grocery shopping whenever I get a chance.

Hummus on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

