Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

On the Need for Paninis: Part V – Capogiro

on October 31, 2012

ImageOctober 22, 2012
Capogiro, Philadelphia PA
~
Mozzarella & Roasted Red Tomato Panini

Red Lentil Soup
Jamaican Coffee Gelato
Zucca Gelato
Sweet Potato Pecan Praline Gelato
~

I needed to go grocery shopping so I checked out Capogiro beforehand. This time, it was early in the day, so they were well stocked on their paninis. The servers are very friendly and I really enjoyed just sitting and chilling in the quaint and brightly lit little café.Image

The Mozzarella & Roasted Red Tomato Panini was absolutely amazing. The ciabatta roll was toasted to perfection, crispy on the outside and slightly soggy from the basil pesto and cheese on the inside. The roasted red tomatoes were absolutely wonderful, very acidic and chewy but not too overwhelming either. The basil pesto was very fresh and still had distinct traces of basil. There was quite a lot of it and made the panini very flavorful. Finally, the star was certainly the gooey and stringy mozzarella. There was a lot of the fresh, light cheese and I loved pulling out the strands until my arm cannot extend any longer and I have to use my tongue to draw the cheese into my mouth. I could have used more tomatoes with the amount of bread, cheese, and pesto there was, but it was still a gorgeous panini.Image

The Red Lentil Soup was decent but not outstanding. The lentils were pureed so finely I could not even tell it was a lentil soup, only some sort of grain grounded and made into a soup. The flavor was light but still nicely seasoned. It was not watered down and very warming. However, for $4, it was such a small portion! The chunk of bread was very tough and hard to bite into, almost a bit stale. It was nice for dipping though.

Finally, I could not go to Capogiro without getting gelato. The Jamaican Coffee Gelato had a very strong coffee bean flavor and was hardly sweet at all. It was creamy but not too rich and overall a very light gelato. The Zucca Gelato (pumpkin) was a bit bland for me but had a decent pumpkin flavor. Again, it was not very sweet. My favorite was the Sweet Potato Pecan Praline Gelato. This one was sweet enough for me, especially the pecan praline swirls. The swirls had a slightly rough texture from the grounded nuts and overall, was nutty, sweet, and creamy – one of my favorite frozen desserts ever!Image

Despite the high prices, I could see why Capogiro is appealing to students, especially those that do not mind too much about money when it comes to delicious food. Everything I tried was made from high quality ingredients and definitely made with care. Add to that the ambiance of the café and you have got one attractive place for students to grab a bite to eat and study.

Capogiro Gelato on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

