Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

Matzoh and Greens – Marathon

on December 16, 2012

November 30, 2012
Marathon, Philadelphia PA
~
Sally’s Chicken Matzoh Ball Soup
Grilled Vegetable and Grains
Image~

I had a Google Offer voucher about to expire and seized the opportunity to take my international mentor out for lunch in Center City. It was really crowded when we got there and I had to wait around five minutes for a table in the huge restaurant. Marathon was clearly a popular choice for a casual but classy lunch.

The offer came with a free soup so we shared a bowl of Sally’s Chicken Matzoh Ball Soup. The soup base with carrots and celery was good. The chicken was in smaller pieces but despite being in the soup was dry and tough. It also did not have much flavour. The matzoh ball was decent, fluffy and soft. I have never had a matzoh ball so I cannot compare, but I did like the springy texture.Image

My Grilled Vegetable and Grains was quite decent. The couscous was okay and I was not a big fan of the lemon vinaigrette I got served on the side. There was a decent portion of field grains but I would have loved to have more of the grilled vegetables. The portobello mushroom, zucchini, asparagus, and red onion were all great but I especially loved the oven dried tomatoes. They were so tart and flavourful, slightly wilted yet juicy and refreshing, offering a very bold taste.

I would definitely recommend Marathon to those looking for an upscale casual lunch in Center City. The service was decent and the atmosphere a little loud but friendly and uplifting.

Marathon Grill on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

