Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

On the Need for Paninis: Part XIII – Lovers and Madmen Coffee Lounge

on January 4, 2013

December 15, 2012
Lovers and Madmen Coffee Lounge, Philadelphia PA
~
Peppermint Biscotti
Roasted Vegetable & Mozzarella Sandwich
~

Image
Wow, this is already my 13th post on sandwiches and paninis around campus featuring a variety of vegetables and cheeses. Some have been great while some a little disappointing. Let’s see if I can reach 20 without too many repeats of stores while having similar sandwiches and paninis. Boy do I love grilled veggies and mozzarella… oh, and the pesto. Don’t forget the pesto.

On the hunt for new, indie coffee shops, I found myself at Lovers and Madmen Coffee Lounge, just a short walk off campus. The outside looked rundown and the neighborhood was certainly not safe and friendly. However, the coffee shop itself was full of students chatting or on laptops. It was difficult to find a seat and I had to wait a while. However, they had treats and sandwiches so I decided lunch was in order.

While waiting for them to make my sandwich, I munched on a Peppermint Biscotti. It was a regular biscotti – I could not quite tell whether it was plain or had some sort of nutty flavouring – but it was crunchy yet not too hard and lightly sweetened. It was dipped in chocolate and covered with peppermint candy cane bits, very tasty for a holiday treat.Image

My Roasted Vegetable & Mozzarella Sandwich was served on a slightly tough roll. I love the hard to chew types of breads, though. The roasted zucchini, squash, and red bell peppers were lovely. The fresh mozzarella was not as thickly cut and made from milk in-house, I think. It was lighter than the regular fresh mozzarella and slightly creamier. It also tasted less like a cheese, even milder than the regular mozzarella. However, it was still tasty with the pesto, which seemed not like basil pesto but rather something similar to broccoli. I may be completely wrong though. The chips were crunchy and very tasty so I was relatively happy with my meal.

The service here was very friendly and the atmosphere was light and relaxing. This is definitely a hidden gem near University City.

Lovers and Madmen Coffee Lounge on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

