Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

A Whoop for Whoopie Pies – Starbucks

on April 22, 2012

ImageApril 21, 2012
Starbucks, Philadelphia PA
~
Chocolate Crème Whoopie Pie
~

Finally, I got my Chocolate Crème Whoopie Pie from Starbucks. It was delicious, of course, but it did not meet all my expectations for a Starbucks Petite.

I loved the drizzle and sprinkles on the dark cake. It was very pretty. The sprinkles definitely did it for me on that front. However, one of the most disappointing things about this treat is how the buttercream inside was so high on one side and almost non-existent on the other. The whole pie was lopsided. I definitely expected greater care on presentation from Starbucks. 

The taste was great and the chocolate flavour is not overly sweet but not too light either. It had a nice dark chocolate taste, almost like a rich coffee but not quite. Personally, I would have liked it to be sweeter as I prefer sweet chocolate cakes. It would be extremely difficult to find a chocolate that is too sweet for me. The cake was soft but firm, perfect for a Whoopie pie. It definitely has a slight chewiness, which is good. It is supposed to have a nice dense cake.

The other slight disappointment was the buttercream icing filling. I do not like the oiliness of a really rich and unflavored whipped cream because it often makes my mouth oily and my stomach turn. I hesitate to use the word ‘oiliness,’ since it is not exactly oil. What I am describing is that buttery coating that you get in your mouth that is hard to make go away and will make you feel like throwing up if you eat too much of the rich buttercream or whip. Buttercream icings tend to have this problem and too many cupcakes and cakes I have tried I did not like for this particular reason.

This was not a huge problem with Starbucks’ whoopie pie. Only my first bite was slightly oily. After that, it was rather enjoyable, though it was still not the best icing I have ever had. Due to the sheer amount and the fact that it was not too buttery, it was decent. However, I would have liked to be just a tad bit less buttery and a lot sweeter. 

Overall, I expected something really sweet from Starbucks – and I wanted something sweeter than what I got. However, it was not a bad dessert, just not one of my Starbucks favourites.

Leave a Reply

