Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

Gourmet Doughnuts? What? – Krispy Kreme Doughnuts

on April 28, 2012

ImageApril 27, 2012
Krispy Kreme Doughnuts, Philadelphia PA
~
Glazed Lemon Filled Doughnut
Chocolate Iced with Sprinkles Doughnut
~

What a nice surprise when I got back from a morning ride, courtesy of Residential Services. Upon entering the college house, there was a table and on it were stacked Krispy Kreme Doughnuts boxes. There is a reason Krispy Kreme is one of everyone’s favourite doughnut places. Their desserts are just good. It is one of the few things I approve of at the dining halls, when they have these doughnuts in different varieties.Image

The first time I entered, I grabbed the Glazed Lemon Filled doughnut. The glaze never ceased to amuse me. I love sugar and sweetness and the glaze just melts in your mouth. This is a texture I approve of when I am eating sugar. The doughnut was super soft and also quite moist and chewy on the inside. It was definitely one of the best doughnuts I have eaten based on the quality of the dough. The lemon filling was tart with a touch of sweetness. The acidity made it so that it was light and refreshing instead of rich and filling. However, I would have preferred more filling as there was only a little bit inside the doughnut. The ratio of doughnut to lemon was definitely off.

Image

The second time I came in, I decided to go with the Chocolate Iced with Sprinkles. It just looked so pretty, calling out “eat me!” The green, orange, and blue appealed to me today so I figured, why not. This one was also glazed in addition to the chocolate icing and sprinkles. The doughnut was again very soft and chewy, the texture quite delightful. My favourite part, though, was the chocolate and sprinkles. It came off of the doughnut when I used a fork, separating from the doughnut easily. I just loved that topping. Their chocolate icing always melts in your mouth, not dry or hard at all like some other places’ doughnuts. Add to that the crunchiness of the sprinkles and it was one sweet treat!

Now I cannot wait to eat some other varieties when our dining hall has them. Their doughnuts are more gourmet than fast food, or so it seems. At least they are great quality desserts! All I can say is that it is certainly not surprising why people look very highly upon Krispy Kreme when talking about doughnuts.

Leave a Reply

