Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

Mexican in Asian Central – 大统华面包坊-T&T Bakery

on May 10, 2012

ImageMay 8, 2012
大统华面包坊 – T&T Bakery, Richmond BC
~
墨西哥红豆包 (Mexico Red Bean Bun)
~

T&T always comes up with new Asian-style buns. They are always baked fresh daily and is, in my opinion, a lot better than most of the bakeries around town. They are also a bit more pricey, but the quality is definitely preferred. This one looked particularly interesting as I have always loved red beans. It also looked like a Mexican pineapple bun, so I guess it was modelled after the popular pan dulce or Mexican sweet bread that are apparently very popular in the country.

I am sure 墨西哥红豆面包 (Mexico Red Bean Bun) has an Asian twist though, even if it is trying to imitate Mexican bread. The red beans were perfect. Not too mushy but just soft enough to chew. It was also filled with sweetness, so I guess they have been in sugar water for a while. They no longer had that raw bean taste so I really liked them. The sugar layer on top was also quite sweet, which I love. It really did taste similar to the pineapple crust on the Asian buns. It was smoother in texture, certainly not as crumbly. It also tasted more rich and creamy than just sugar and oil.

The bread was somewhat disappointing though. Despite being freshly baked, the bread was kind of dry by the evening, even on the inside. It was not crumbly yet but getting there, and it was definitely not as moist as I would have preferred. I also was definitely not sticky, though it was soft and fluffy. I think adding red bean paste or more red beans inside the bread would be better, just so it is not too plain. The beans and the outer layer’s sweetness is not enough to compensate for a lack of flavour in the bread so I definitely needed more to satisfy my palate. However, I do appreciate them making different varieties of buns just to keep the choices interesting.

Osaka Supermarket 大阪超級市場 on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

