Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

Savoury and Soft – 大统华面包坊-T&T Bakery

on May 11, 2012

ImageMay 10, 2012
大统华面包坊 – T&T Bakery, Richmond BC
~
香蒜火腿包 (Garlic Ham Bun)
~

Mom always surprises me with her selections of bread. Well, I just did not expect her to bring home any today. Bless her that she knew I did not go out to eat today and would need something for my blog! So, my ‘adventures’ of tasting T&T’s new batch of buns continue.

Today, I tried the 香蒜火腿面包 (Garlic Ham Bun). I was never a fan of processed meat, but this I could handle. It was less processed, tasting more like a lean, thinly sliced piece of pork bacon. It actually tasted a lot like Canadian bacon – perhaps it was Canadian bacon, or something very similar at least. It was a bit on the salty side, but the bread made up for it. It was super soft and moist, just the way I like it! Despite it being in the chilled case because it contained meat, the bread was the perfect texture, moist and chewy and rather sticky. I wonder if the moisture came from the fact that it had meat and a garlic pesto in it to give off heat which eventually turns into moisture and is soaked up by the bread. Regardless, I love sticky Chinese breads. They have the most wonderful texture out of all bread. Actually, I just like it to be moist and chewy – that’s all.

It was super fresh, and the garlic pesto on top made sure of that as well. I would have liked more of the garlic, not just because it looks so green and pretty, but because I love, and I mean LOVE, garlic-flavoured food. The green was so bright, complementing the shape of the bun nicely. It is just that more garlic would have made it just so much better!

Osaka Supermarket 大阪超級市場 on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

