Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

SlurpFREE Day – 7-Eleven

on May 24, 2012

ImageMay 23, 2012
7-Eleven, Vancouver BC
~
Crush ‘Lite’ Cream Soda Slurpee
~

Slurpees are one of those things that everyone else get every other day and yet, the number of times I have had one are few and far between. Despite one so close to home, I do not buy things from convenient stores, just like I have not used a vending machine more than five times in my entire life. I just don’t. So about 1/3 of the times I have had Slurpees over the years were on July 11 when they give them out for free. For one reason or another, they decided to have a SlurpFREE Day yesterday. Well, why not enjoy something cold and sweet on such a beautiful day?

Since they were also promoting the new flavour, I decided to try it – the Crush ‘Lite’ Cream Soda Slurpee. Having never been a huge fan of cream soda, it is one of those drinks that I will take a sip of once in a while just to remind my taste buds what it tastes like. Kudos to 7-Eleven for having the ‘Lite’ version with 30% fewer calories. But I was disappointed to find they do not have any Diet Coke or Coke Zero or some other sort with NO calories. These sodas are so popular now that it is SURPRISING to not see any everywhere you go. The pink, I must say, was pretty. I have a soft spot for hot pink. Pink cup, pink slurpee, and that pink straw really brightened up my afternoon. The drink itself was nothing out of the ordinary. It tasted sweet, like a regular cream soda. After a few sips, I have had enough. Just to get some flavoured ice slush in my mouth again felt oddly refreshing though!

Leave a Reply

