Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

California’s Little Denmark – Mortensen’s Danish Bakery

on June 29, 2012

ImageJune 29, 2012
Mortensen’s Danish Bakery, Solvang CA
~
Chocolate Chip Butter Cookie
Cinnamon Butter Cookie
Coconut Butter Cookie
Almond Butter Cookie

~

A friend brought back gourmet Danish butter cookies from Solvang, California quite a while ago. Thus, it is a good thing they stay fresh for so long. I do not know why I have not tried them until now even though I have had many a chance to do so. Even after over a month, they are still fresh, delicious, buttery, and sweet. None of them were too dry. Each still had the perfect texture of a butter cookie: crumbly, sweet, and melt-in-your-mouth butteriness. Discovering that Solvang is known for its butter cookies in America, I must go check it out sometime. For now, though, this will have to suffice.

First of the four flavours I sampled was the Chocolate Chip Butter Cookie. The cookie was a plain butter cookie, tasting delicious nonetheless. Mixed into it were semisweet chocolate chips. Surprisingly, these mini cocoa delights were so soft and moist they melted in my mouth. I did not expect this. After all, the cookie was baked and left around for a couple of weeks. Whatever they added to the chocolate, it did not distract from the flavour but kept it smooth, needing to bite at all.

Second, there was the Cinnamon Butter Cookie. I thought this was quite creative. Who would have thought to mix cinnamon into the traditional cookie dough? I thought the spice complimented the sweetness and made it something a little more special, almost giving it an ‘exotic’ flavour. The darker shade of the cookie was also very appealing and again, the texture was perfect.

Next, perhaps the most plain one out of all of these, was the Coconut Butter Cookie. Visually, it is a regular Danish butter cookie. Biting into it, I could hardly taste the coconut flavour. Only because I know there were no plain ones but there was a coconut one in the bucket of cookies could I deduce this one was coconut. After I figured it out, I could slightly distinguish the light hint of coconut aroma. Regardless, it was still an enjoyable treat.

Finally, the Almond Butter Cookie is a rectangular cookie topped with sliced almonds and crystal sugar in addition to the almond extract in the cookie dough itself. The almond was not too strong, but more distinguishable than the coconut. This is more of a one-bite cookie, as it was rather small in size. However, it was delicately made. I do wish the topping would not fall off so easily though. Some were completely devoid of toppings as they have been sitting around for a while.

I think I might have rediscovered my love for Danish butter cookies. These were just soft and moist enough not to take away from the crumble and crunch of the cookies. I really ought to visit Solvang one day, just so I can get more of these scrumptious little gourmet devils. They just make such a sweet, tasty, bite-sized afternoon snack!

Leave a Reply

