Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

Sunshine, Sweetness, and Spices – Tim Hortons

on July 7, 2012

ImageJuly 6, 2012
Tim Hortons, Burnaby BC
~
Jalapeno Asiago Mozzarella Bagel
Whole Grain Carrot Orange Muffin
~

At the office today, whoever always brings in day-old Tim Hortons treats left it on the lunchroom countertop instead of besides someone’s desk. That sure made it easier to share amongst everyone! The timbits were the first to go, followed by the muffins, and finally the bagels. Clearly, people prefer bite-sized sweets. I managed to get two treats before they disappeared, and although it was day-old, and I am not even sure which Tim Hortons store it came from although I am assuming Burnaby, it was still in good quality and quite fresh.

First, the Jalapeno Asiago Mozzarella Bagel was extremely, and I mean EXTREMELY, hot. The texture was still good. It was moist and still incredibly dense and chewy. That is the reason I love bagels. It gives my jaws the workout it craves while satisfying my taste buds. Even after a day, it was not dry at all. The cheese on top was kind of hard but still sticking to the bagel and I actually liked the dry texture of it. The jalapeno bits were scattered throughout the bagel. At first, it had a slightly sweet taste. However, as I chewed more and more, I began to taste the peppers. Soon enough, my mouth was on fire, and all from just a bite of bagel! I love foods that are extremely hot, and so I quite like this bagel. I was just surprised that this level of spice came from a bagel of all things.Image

Away from the savoury and spicy bagel, I tried the Whole Grain Carrot Orange Muffin. I liked the whole oats and grains topping. After sitting for a day, it was no longer crispy on the surface. Only some crunch was still left, just because it was whole grains. The moisture really took away from what I assumed used to be a hard, crispy outer top. The grains with the sugar did make a delicious topping, though. The inside was still extremely soft and moist, like a dense but fluffy cake. For a muffin, the texture was just about perfect. The orange did mask the carrot aroma, though. I am not a huge fan of oranges in desserts, so the flavour was a bit strong for my liking. I would rather have a muffin with just carrots, because then the natural sweetness would actually stand out. This became mostly orange without much carrot. However, I loved that it was not dry at all and was not too heavy either.

This comes to show that Tim Hortons food quality is quite decent. After all, if day-old items are still soft, moist, and pretty fresh, the quality is not bad. I would not mind eating this more often. They also do offer a wide variety so it is possible to get something different each time for quite a long while. Now that I know their muffins have great texture, something I really look for in my muffins, I will go try some of their other flavours that appeal to me more. 

Leave a Reply

