Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

Picking on Muffin Tops – Tim Hortons

on July 24, 2012

ImageJuly 24, 2012
Tim Hortons, Burnaby BC
~
Chocolate Chip Muffin
Fruit Explosion Muffin
~

Apparently, the muffins from Tim Hortons that are available in the office every morning is not day-old treats. Instead, someone brings them in in the morning for everyone to share, especially the people who are here extremely early. If this is the case, then there is really no excuse for poor quality. In that case, I am extremely disappointed with the soft topping on all the muffins. Even though the insides have always been soft and moist, even along the paper cup and edges, the tops should be crisp. Instead, these are moist like the rest of the muffin, which is why I would prefer McDonald’s muffins anyday for something that is similar in price and quality.

Today, I first tried the Chocolate Chip Muffin. It was a simple, plain muffin with lots of semisweet, mini chocolate chips. Although the chocolate chips were plentiful and slightly melted, they did not add much sweetness to the muffin since they were only semisweet. I would have preferred straight milk chocolate chips. The muffin was light and not overly buttery, but it was not sweet enough for me. I like my muffins to be sweeter. Rather, it was sort of bland, especially in those bites that did not have much chocolate. There was a little sprinkled sugar on top, which added the slightest crunch. I would have really liked a crisp topping with more crunchy sugar on it. I also could have used bigger chocolate chips.Image

The Fruit Explosion Muffin was even more bland. With the same, not-very-sweet muffin base, it had cranberries, blueberries, and what I thought were mini apple bits. The cranberries were tart, the blueberries a little sweeter, and the apple bits did not taste like much since they were so small and only on the top layer. At first, I thought they were bananas, but they were chewy rather than mushy. The fruits did not offer much in the way of flavour, since all three did not have strong aromas. It was certainly pretty to look at, but the taste was just extremely bland. Yes, it was soft, but again, it did not have a crisp top. Where was the ‘explosion’? Perhaps they should have named it the Fruit Anti-explosion Muffin because not only was there no bold flavours, there was barely any taste to it at all. Maybe fruits and muffins just do not mix well, but in that case, at least include more sugar and sweet blueberries.

If these muffins were indeed fresh, then Tim Hortons is becoming disappointing. Despite the freshness of these muffins, I would not buy them myself as they are lacking in both flavour and texture. If I am going into a restaurant myself, I think I will stick to the doughnuts, timbits, and soups for now.
Leave a Reply

