Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

Frothy and Sweet – McDonald’s

on September 2, 2012

ImageAugust 30, 2012
McDonald’s, Richmond BC
~
Deluxe Hot Chocolate
Sugar Free Vanilla Cappuccino
~

Again, two different cups of hot beverages for free with printed coupons at two different McDonald’s in Richmond. I wish these were available sooner so I have more time to use them and try out a good chunk of their McCafé menu.

At the Blundell McDonald’s, I got a small cup of Deluxe Hot Chocolate. So pleased was I with the cup of Caramel Hot Chocolate the other day, I just had to compare it to the regular version and see how much difference the caramel makes. The result? Quite a bit. The hot chocolate was very sweet and very good. I love how the hot drink contrasts with the cold whip cream on top. I also like that the whip cream is sweet and thus not bland and greasy; this was whip cream I approve of. Without the caramel, however, there was no third layer of sweetness and I missed the extra richness the drizzle added to the drink, especially when it was melted and everything blended together. It was still a good, tasty, and extremely satisfyingly sweet hot drink. What can I say… the sweeter, the better.

ImageDespite the rise in temperature and exercising, I decided to get a cup of Sugar Free Vanilla Cappuccino from the McDonald’s in Ironwood Plaza. It was steamed nicely and had a nice layer of foam that was not extremely dry. The sugar-free vanilla syrup added a nice touch of sweetness to the drink and the skim milk made the drink not overly rich and thus acceptable in hotter weather. It had a nice and mild taste with a smooth texture. I am not sure I prefer this to Starbucks or other place’s cappuccino, since it is $2.59 for regular price. However, it was one of the better espresso drinks I have had from McDonald’s.

 

McDonald's (Blundell Centre) on Urbanspoon
McDonald's (Ironwood Plaza) on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

