Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

The End of Summer – Sushi DO

on September 10, 2012

ImageSeptember 5, 2012
Sushi DO, Philadelphia PA
~
Cali Summer Wrap
~

The first day of school was a busy one for me. Rushing from class to class, trying to find the right classrooms and being late only to discover there were barely any seats left, I spent a few good hours being busy and tired. In between, I needed a quick lunch that was both refreshing and convenient. Luckily, Sushi DO is now offering so many more choices, including fresh salmon and tuna sashimi! They also have an array of specialty rolls, such as Caterpillar, Dragon, and Rainbow Rolls. I cannot wait to try out the whole array of delicious looking rolls on display.Image

My first choice, though, did not include fish. I picked the Cali Summer Wrap, which was imitation crab, avocado, cucumber, carrots, and lettuce, all wrapped in rice paper. I loved how there was no rice. It was served with the sweet, tangy, and spicy sweet chili sauce. The sauce was very flavourful and refreshing when paired with all the vegetables. The crunch was offset by the creaminess of the avocado. The imitation crab was not the best ever, as it was a little bland for me. However, the ingredients were all very fresh. I discovered that I love rice paper; it is so chewy and slightly tough while being so thin.

I only wish these summer rolls were available everyday; I know I will be checking everyday to see if they had made it that day. However, at least Sushi Do offers sashimi now so I have access to fresh salmon at my fingertips. 

Leave a Reply

