Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

Fruity and Sweet – Starbucks

on October 21, 2012

ImageOctober 14, 2012
Starbucks, Jim Thorpe PA
~
Reduced Fat Blueberry Muffin
Cran Apple Bran Muffin
~

The drive to and from Cornell is so long and tedious that we had to stop halfway through for a lunch and snack break. I was surprised and happy to find that the Starbucks at the highway rest center had a similar special menu to the one I found at SeaTac Airport. I could not help myself and just had to get not one, but two muffins. I actually wished I got three, as well as the Chocolate Chip Scone and this chicken sandwich, all of which are not normally available at a regular Starbucks store.

The first was the Reduced Fat Blueberry Muffin. It was absolutely delicious, definitely the best blueberry muffin I have ever had. The top was slightly hardened and crispy where there was a thin coating of sugar. The muffin base was very sweet but perfect for my taste. It was not overly buttery or greasy, just light and sugary. It was also very moist. The blueberries were also quite sweet and there was a decent amount in it.

ImageThe Cran Apple Bran Muffin was also great, though I still prefer the blueberries one. It was covered with crunchy oats, which I loved. Oats and brown sugar are superb together. The cranberries added tartness to the muffin and the apple flavor was there but could have been stronger. There was also a little cinnamon taste to it. It was again moist but I would have like it to be a little sweeter, though that is just because I prefer my desserts to be sweeter than normal.

I am always amazed at the quality of Starbucks food. They are not made fresh daily or on the premises even but somehow, the quality is always up to par, and sometimes even better than the freshly made ones. I guess there is nothing more to say than, “Starbucks, I love you.”

Leave a Reply

