Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

Hearty and Home-y – Yue Kee Mobile Kitchen

on November 6, 2012

ImageOctober 26, 2012
Yue Kee Mobile Kitchen, Philadelphia PA
~
Shrimp Yat Mein
Ma Paul Tofu
Grandfather Chicken
~

Continuing my recent Chinese food truck trend, I visited Yue Kee Mobile Kitchen again. However, this meal was not exactly what I expected, and it was not as good. At least I got to try a few more dishes and taste for myself what is good and what is not.

The Shrimp Yat Mein was also very decent in a huge portion. I appreciate the al dente and very chewy thick egg noodles. The many medium-sized boiled shrimp were actually very tender but the onions still had their sting, as they were not cooked thoroughly. It did offer a contrast to the brown gravy sauce. The sauce was flavorful but got slightly boring after a while though it was still good. Image

They are well known around campus for their Ma Paul Tofu. I found it strange that it is called ‘Paul’ and not ‘Po.’ I guess the dish got a gender change but it is probably just bad English. Regardless of what it is called, the dish was comforting. It used the same ground pork, firm tofu, and chili oil that was on the Beijing Hot Noodles but added to it soft tofu and shredded bamboo. It was spicy and very tasty with the plain white rice, similar to how Mom sometimes makes it.Image

Finally, the Grandfather Chicken was the first disappointment since I first started ordering from Yue Kee. The sauce was soy sauce-based and was just very salty and monotonous. The broccoli was okay but other vegetables would have been nice, too. The chicken was in larger pieces than the norm at other places, with tender meat inside. The batter quickly became soggy from the sauce, though, and the dish was just too salty and boring for me.

I think I will come back if I feel like a large dose of decent chili oil and pork but for fried chicken dishes in sauce, I will probably stick with Kim’s Oriental Food.

Yue Kee Mobile Kitchen on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

