Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

On the Need for Paninis: Part VI – Starbucks

on November 8, 2012

ImageOctober 28, 2012
Starbucks, Philadelphia PA
~
Roasted Vegetable Panini
Caramel Frappuccino Light Blended Beverage
Raspberry Truffle Cake Pop
Salted Caramel Cake Pop
Bountiful Blueberry Muffin
Outrageous Oatmeal Cookie
Reduced-Fat Cinnamon Swirl Coffee Cake
Salted Caramel Mocha
~

With Superstorm Sandy on the way, I decided to not only get lunch and dinner at Starbucks, but also my fill of coffee and snacks for the next little while. I love how their new rewards program is loaded automatically on the card and food options are always greatly appreciated. Image

The Roasted Vegetable Panini was very delicious. One bite into the freshly toasted panini made me regret not trying the food at Starbucks earlier. The vegetables were wilted yet still juicy, soaking up the flavor from the tomato spread. I love zucchini, eggplants, red peppers, and spinach – it had all of my favorite vegetables. The provolone cheese was very gooey and flavorful as well. The tomato taste tied everything together, making the focaccia roll slightly soggy but delicious. The flavor was quite bold for a panini or sandwich, which is why I loved it so much.Image

It was National Caramel Month so the Caramel Frappuccino Light Blended Beverage satisfied my craving for something rich, cold, and sweet. I had a free drink on my rewards card and decided to get a venti of my favorite beverage to indulge in. The ice slush was great and it was sweet but not boring. I really do love caramel.Image

To celebrate National Chocolate Day, I tried the remaining two cake pops I have yet to taste. The Raspberry Truffle Cake Pop was a nice replica of an actual truffle. The raspberry infused dark chocolate cake was moist and just sweet enough with a strong raspberry aroma. The chocolate shell added a nice crunch.

To go with my caramel beverage, the Salted Caramel Cake Pop was very fitting. I loved the moist chocolate and caramel cake center. It was so dense and chewy… and very sweet. The milk chocolate and caramel frosting shell was also great but I was not sold on the ‘salted’ part. There was too much salt for my liking that instead of complementing the sweet caramel and chocolate, it overwhelmed the sweetness.

The Bountiful Blueberry Muffin did not meet my expectations, however. The crust topping was too greasy and buttery without enough sweetness to offset it. The blueberries were plentiful – or rather bountiful – but not juicy, plump, or sweet. The muffin base was moist and dense but again not sweet enough. I do not like to taste too much butter in my desserts so this was definitely not my favorite muffin. I think I liked their original version so much more.

ImageThe Outrageous Oatmeal Cookie was outrageously good… unsurprisingly. It was very soft an chewy and full of not just a variety of while grains, oats, and the like but also red and golden raisins and dried cranberries. It was huge and wonderful.

The Reduced-Fat Cinnamon Swirl Coffee Cake was scrumptious. The cinnamon sugar swirls were sticky, sweet, and decently spiced with a strong cinnamon flavor. The cake was moist and dense but not too sweet. Most of all, I loved the super thick crust topping of cinnamon and brown sugar. It was so sweet and so good.Image

Since it was a chilly day, I also decided to get a Salted Caramel Mocha before they stopped serving this special autumn drink. It was okay but definitely not my favorite. The chocolate flavor was quite strong in the mocha and there was definitely a distinct salty taste to it. There was not a very strong caramel flavor to it, though, so I would have preferred more. However, it was a nice drink that warmed me up… very comforting.

After spending quite a while inside Starbucks on this windy and chilly day, I know I will be doing this a lot more often, getting a whole day’s worth of food and more in terms of snacks from this world-famous café. ImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

