Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

Ribs That Shake and Melt – McDonald’s

on January 8, 2013

ImageDecember 16, 2012
McDonald’s, Philadelphia PA
~
Egg Nog Shake
McRib
Cinnamon Melts
~

The local McDonald’s started to offer the long-awaited McRib at least two days earlier than the planned December 17. That was a rather nice weekend surprise. Despite previous bad experiences with the quality of assembling sandwiches, this visit was not horrible in comparison.

I had the limited-time Egg Nog Shake to start, perfect for National Egg Nog Month. I think the lady forgot the maraschino cherry on top but I never liked those anyways. The eggnog flavour was quite prominent in contrast to the vanilla soft serve ice cream. Although most would probably find this too much of a sugar overload, I loved it, even though I did not finish the whole thing. The sweetness of the milkshake went nicely with the spice of the eggnog, bringing back memories from elementary when I first tried eggnog.

ImageThe McRib sandwich was nicely assembled and delicious. The barbeque sauce was smoky with a slight tang and decently sweetened. It was not a heavy sauce and coated the very tender pork nicely. The pork was so tender it almost did not taste like pork. The onions added a refreshing, spicy kick but I found the pickles to be a little overwhelming, the flavour strong compared to the barbeque sauce. The bun was nicely toasted and overall was a delicious sandwich for McDonald’s standards. Too bad it only comes around once a year.Image

For dessert, I had Cinnamon Melts, which I have not had for a long, long time. It was warm and soft, with the dough drizzled in the warm, gooey cinnamon sugar mixture and melted icing. It was sweet on spice on sweet and I loved every bite.

McDonald’s seriously needs new items more often, as they add such variety to the menu, making it ever so interesting. I am curious as to what the spring will bring. Having missed the Shamrock Shake last year, I am definitely getting my hands on a cup this coming March.

Leave a Reply

