Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

Mmm Mushrooms – George’s Food Truck

on January 11, 2013

December 18, 2012
George’s Food Truck, Philadelphia PA
~
Bacon and Egg White Cheese
Mushroom Cheese Steak
~

Image

With the semester coming to an end, many food trucks were no longer on campus. Thus, when I decided I wanted a cheap, fast, and toasty warm cheesesteak, I had only one option: George’s Food Truck. It is quite a popular one and close by. I watch them almost everyday from inside the gym and while they may not be as popular as The Bento Box or Kim’s Oriental Food, they get quite a handful of customers around every mealtime.

I was in the mood for breakfast in the late afternoon so I settled for a Bacon and Egg White Cheese. It came on a long roll for only $3.50. The egg whites were light and the cheese was a savoury cheese sauce that tasted like American cheese to me. The bacon was nice and crispy. While I find the fillings to be a little less than ideal, the flavours were there. The roll was fresh with a slightly hardened exterior and an airy, chewy inside.Image

My cheesesteak craving was satisfied with a Mushroom Cheese Steak. The beef was juicy and tender but I would have liked to see a bit more of it. For $4 though, it was a deal. The cheese sauce was the same white one as in the breakfast rolls. It came with grilled mushrooms and onions that brought each of their own aroma to the cheesesteak. I liked both additions.

The man working the food truck was very friendly. I am not sure if he is actually George but with friendly service, decent food, and great prices, I would come back when I am looking for cheesesteaks and other popular subs and sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

