Mouthful of Sunshine

Satisfaction in every bite

Cupid’s Heart – Dunkin’ Donuts

on February 6, 2013

January 30, 2013
Dunkin’ Donuts, Philadelphia PA
~
Turkey Sausage Breakfast Sandwich
Tuna Melt
Cupid’s Choice Donut
Brownie Batter Donut
~

ImageWhen I want some comforting breakfast foods with some sweet treats, I head to Dunkin’ Donuts because they offer quite decent sandwiches and doughnuts. I appreciate the varieties that they offer, and the one on campus is more than half decent.Image

The new promotional sandwich was the Turkey Sausage Breakfast Sandwich, which had a turkey sausage patty, fried egg, and cheese on a toasted English muffin. The sausage was savoury and somewhat juicy. It did not taste that different from a pork sausage patty, which is to say it was good. It was perhaps just a touch less fatty, as expected. The egg was done nicely and the rest of the sandwich was just as I had expected, fresh and comforting.Image

It was National Croissant Day so I also decided to try the Tuna Melt – tuna salad and a slice of cheddar cheese on a croissant. It was toasted nicely but the cheese was obscured by all the tuna flavour-wise. The tuna salad was very good, though. It was a little too watery, with perhaps a touch too much mayonnaise. There was that canned tuna and mayonnaise flavour that reminds me of my childhood. I liked the addition of the freshly diced celery to add crunch and texture.Image

In celebration of Valentine’s Day, Dunkin’ Donuts offered some seasonal doughnuts. The Cupid’s Choice Donut was a heart-shaped doughnut filled with Bavarian cream and topped with strawberry frosting and Valentine heart sprinkles. I loved the combination of the cream and frosting, as they are my two favourite flavours.Image

The second one was the new Brownie Batter Donut, filled with chocolate brownie filling and topped with chocolate frosting and sprinkles. I liked the rough, sugary texture of the brownie batter filling. It was so sweet and chocolate-y, just like the frosting. For those who do not like very sweet chocolate, stay away. However, it was fine by me.Image

Dunkin’ Donuts is certainly coming up with some interesting twists to their doughnuts. After all, there are only so much you can do with filling and frosting. However, I would like to see some unique flavours soon, perhaps some exotic fruit flavour. That would be a nice addition.

2 responses to “Cupid’s Heart – Dunkin’ Donuts

  1. Kristen says:

    Hello my name is Kristen and I am the Photo Editor at The Daily Meal. We are writing an article about Unhealthiest Fast Foods and wanted to feature you in that list. We would love to use a photo from your blog of the Dunkin Donuts Tuna Melt on a croissant. We will of course credit back to your blog and link back to where we found the photo. Please let me know if you do not wish to be featured. Thank you and best wishes!

    • sunnyyq says:

      Hi Kristen,
      Yes, that is fine. I am in the process of cleaning up some posts, though, and this one may get removed since it is quite old, so if possible, maybe just link back to my general blog. Let me know what you think. Thanks

Leave a Reply

